Faculty

"Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity, and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us." - Titus 2:7-8

Currently, 38% of BCS’s faculty members hold master’s degrees. The average student/teacher ratio is 8 to 1 with teachers having an average of 15.24 years experience. Each faculty member specializes in specific subjects, ranging from teaching phonics in kindergarten to AP Calculus. Banner’s Mission Statement addresses the desire to teach to the whole child. Teachers instruct using the academic curriculum, but they also minister to students spiritually, socially, emotionally and physically. Consequently, the staff spends time praying, mentoring, and encouraging students, as well as striving to be helpers and sources of discipline and love in their students’ lives.

Tom Burkett

Head of School
B.S. Liberty University
M.B.A. Averett University
Ph. D. Columbia International University
tburkett@bannerchristian.org

Barbi de Haas

Upper School Principal
B.A. University of Virginia Psychology
M.S.W. Virginia Commonwealth University
bdehaas@bannerchristian.org

Travis L. Moore

Middle School Principal
B.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
M.Ed. Liberty University
tmoore@bannerchristian.org

Kathy Ivill

Lower School Principal
B.S. University of Tulsa
M.Ed. Liberty University
kivill@bannerchristian.org

Stephen Wolf

Director of Marketing and Finance
B.S. James Madison University
M.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
swolf@bannerchristian.org

Paul Ivill

Athletics Coordinator
B.S. Elon College
pivill@bannerchristian.org

Brandon Murrell

IT Director
B.S. Virginia Commonwealth University
M.A. Concordia University
bmurrell@bannerchristian.org

Annette Cupp

Office Manager
B.S.W. James Madison University
acupp@bannerchristian.org

Holli Grubbs

Food Services
hblake@bannerchristian.org

Christine Hale

Director of Development /
Director of Admissions
chale@bannerchristian.org

Demetria Heatwole

Discovery Therapist
B.A. Marshall University
dheatwole@bannerchristian.org

Carla Irwin

Guidance Counselor
B.S. Liberty University
M.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
cirwin@bannerchristian.org

Callie Van Horn

Kindergarten Teacher
B.S. Longwood University
M.Ed. Nova Southeastern University
cvanhorn@bannerchristian.org

Angelia Higgins

1st Grade Teacher
B.S. Piedmont Bible College
ahiggins@bannerchristian.org

Carol Hopkins

2nd Grade Teacher
B.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
chopkins1@bannerchristian.org

Bert Rhodes

3rd Grade Teacher
B.A. Mary Washington University
brhodes@bannerchristian.org

Lisa Reyes

4th Grade Teacher
B.A.William & Mary lreyes@bannerchristian.org

Julie Burkett

5th Grade Teacher
B.S. Liberty University
jburkett@bannerchristian.org

Pamela Arnold

Middle School Science
B.A. Florida Bible College
M.Ed Columbia International University
parnold@bannerchristian.org

Maria Carroll

Middle/Upper School English
B.A. James Madison University
mcarroll@bannerchristian.org

Elizabeth Dyson

Middle School English/ ESL
B.A. College of William & Mary
edyson@bannerchristian.org

William Linares

Spanish
B.A. University of Zulia
wlinares@bannerchristian.org

Cathrine Mireles

Middle/Upper School English
B.A. Mississippi College
M.Ed. Virginia Commonwealth University
cmireles@bannerchristian.org

Diane Murrell

Upper School English
B.A. Florida State University
dmurrell@bannerchristian.org

Rebekah Myers

Middle School Math/ Science
B.S. Pensacola Christian College
rmyers@bannerchristian.org

Jan Pace

Upper School Math
B.A. University of Richmond
jpace@bannerchristian.org

Tiffany Trower

Middle/Upper School Math
B.S. Mathematical Sciences Virginia Commonwealth University
M.A. Secondary Education
Grand Canyon University ttrower@bannerchristian.org

Lynne Wolfe

Upper School Science
B.A. Humanities (emphasis in science) Pensacola Christian School
lwolfe@bannerchristian.org

John Young

Middle / Upper School History
B.A. Bryan College
jyoung@bannerchristian.org

Anne Culver

Music Teacher
B.A. Sweet Briar College
aculver@bannerchristian.org

Annette Cupp

Librarian
B.S.W. James Madison University
acupp@bannerchristian.org

Kathy Ivill

Art Teacher
B.S. University of Tulsa
M.Ed. Liberty University
kivill@bannerchristian.org

Paul Ivill

Physical Education Teacher
B.S. Elon College
pivill@bannerchristian.org

William Linares

Spanish
B.A. University of Zulia
wlinares@bannerchristian.org

Brandon Murrell

Computer Teacher
B.S. Virginia Commonwealth University
M.A. Concordia University
bmurrell@bannerchristian.org

Tina Petersen

Drama Teacher
B.F.A. Virginia Commonwealth University
tpetersen@bannerchristian.org

%d bloggers like this: